Does Failure Define You?

IMG_1643March 13, 2017. I read the results to the first chapter book contest I entered at the first of the year. I didn’t even place. I didn’t like the books that did place either. So, what made them so much better than mine? It took me about a day to get over the wasted months I spent constantly excited I would win first place. Surely I had worked harder on my first chapter than all the other amateur authors I was up against. (I spent countless nap times writing and revising) 😔 Everything in life had always come so easily for me. Alas, I came to the conclusion my second book was terrible.

later that week I re-read what I had submitted and decided I was going to redirect the underlying meaning of my book. What I had written to entertain my friends, I would now change to not only entertain but to give glory to God. Or atleast write it in the sense of his word always being at the forefront in my mind. Don’t be misguided that my book will be about God, but some things will have to change so it’s not so…harsh. It is a romance novel after all.

My purpose on earth might only be to provide support and love for my husband and kids, but I need something else to do with my time. Why can’t something I write be both entertaining and hopeful? So here I sit waiting for inspiration, to change the parts of my book that need changing to provide that.

Failure doesn’t define me, it keeps me constantly changing. Ever adapting to what’s being thrown at me, making me better. Humbling the inner prima donna. Maybe my book doesn’t get finished while I have small children nipping at my heels. Or maybe I try harder. We shall see!

-Donna

2 thoughts on “Does Failure Define You?

  1. This is not necessarily failure, at least in the larger sense. Your story isn’t over, nor are all your books written.

    I’ve submitted stuff that’s been rejected and later read winning entries and decided I didn’t care for them much. Okay. I don’t like Hemingway and Steinbeck much, either, but nobody says they couldn’t write. No story is for everyone. Not Rowling or Tolkien or Shakespeare or even the Bible is universally loved.

    Chin up. You can do this. 🙂

    Like

    1. Very true, thank you. I wish I could edit both of my current books and submit them again immediately, however my craft is lacking in some departments. I read your article on cliches and I’m over here sweating. I think every line in my story is a cliche! I don’t even know where to start fixing that. *cringe*

      Like

Leave a Reply

