I Wipe Butts and Type All Day

IMG_2183

Today’s blog is written to sir mix-a-lot tunes. If you sing the title of this blog to his song it’s kinda catchy.

Yes, I wake up and the first thing I do is wipe my sons butt. The last thing I do before I lay my head on my pillow is type something for my blog, blogmutt, or social media. That’s my day. So, I thought I’d dedicate a post on exactly what I’ve been doing all day besides running after the kids.

Three years ago I started working for the company Lionbridge. I signed a non-disclosure with them, therefore I can not divulge everything. I can, however let you know how to get started if you think you want to give it a try. I will touch on the blog writing further down.

If your looking for some supplemental income, like computer work, or just want something else to do with your time, Lionbridge is great. They offer work from home Internet analyst positions and center around improving global marketing and search engine results. While this doesn’t sound like most people’s career path, it can almost apply to any field and keeps your resume from having a huge gaping hole in it from staying at home.

As far as pay goes, it’s more than minimum wage, but not enough to keep me around any longer than the three glorious years I spent hacking away on my computer keyboard. Contractors (your not an employee technically because you choose when to work) may work 10-20+ hours per week scouring the internet and rating the results search engines give you. I got paid once a month, on time, every time. I even got a huge bonus around Christmas my first year!

Sounds pretty simple. It is. It begins to get cumbersome though. When my daughter was 5 months old I started the hiring process. I had to study a huge handbook and take three lengthy tests. After each round you pass, you move on, and eventually congratulations your an internet analyst!

It was a great company to work with. All correspondence was done via email and webinars. The company is located in Ireland, I believe, so listening to the webinars wasn’t so torturous. For me, after I had my son it was too much to try and get done with two kids and not what I wanted to do with my time.

Put the kids in daycare and go back to work for my sanity, you say? No. It gives me the heevy geevies thinking about creating realtionships and leaving my kids with someone I don’t know. And since I don’t have to, I’ll figure something else out. I have never excelled at being a conversationalist (something my friends know and my husband loves to point out), nor am I great at building relationships with new people and KEEPING them. My relationship with my keyboard has been great, thanks.

This brings me to current day. Three weeks ago I emailed my resignation to Lionbridge and applied to Blogmutt the same day. God knew my path and showed me the way clearly that Wednesday afternoon. Blogmutt approved my application and hired me as one of their hundreds, if not thousands, of writers the next day. These writers write articles for company blogs which don’t have time or the desire to write.

This opportunity came out of no where and has help me tremendously in getting my writing groove back. I learn new things every day about the subjects I choose to write about. The articles that have given me the most success are marketing related, surprisingly. They have almost every subject under the sun, including salon and property management subjects, which is right up my alley. There are other companies that do the same; Writers Domain, Hubspot, Content Writers, Writer Access. I wish I could write for all of them, but I do not have the time and energy to earn a big fat paycheck at the moment.

Every day I wondered how in the heck was I going to find the time to get back to writing. I can’t take a class. I can’t pawn my kids off on a babysitter. And while my husband has afforded me the ability to not work, I can’t seem to be content with the kids being my sole responsibility day to day. I didn’t grow up with a stay at home mother, so the concept scares me. What am I going to do with my career when the kids grow tiresome of me and don’t need me every moment? I am not sure many work fields I am interested in will accept me being out of the loop for so long.

I know things will work out, with a lot of hard work. I’ve read writing is the poor mans job. Well, that’s perfect because I don’t do it to get paid. I do it beacuse it’s fun and challenging. I’m contributing in a way that satisfies a part of me that’s been missing for so long. If you have any questions about any of the companies I’ve listed comment or message me. I’d be glad to answer any questions I can.

-Donna

Leave a Reply

